Round three

How has your week been dears? I hope all is going along just fine in your lives. Mine well you know the sob story but I had a killer Sunday in Venice again. I met up with two of the other au pairs then a friend from back home and her gapper friends, who are also from Canada. They are working in the UK right now, totally jealous of them! Which brings me to my BIG news… since I am pretty much miserable and not fitting in very well with my current au pair family, I am more than likely going to be au pairing in the england until mid-december. I have to give my notice to this family within the next few days so I can get outta here. I just need to pick between two families… which is proving to be a tough decision! One family lives near London and has two teenage boys (15&18) then the other family lives in central england and has one two year old and my schedule is more cray-cray.. I’m thinking of going with family #1.

Alright here is your third viewing of Venezia!

canal

Possibly your third viewing of the canal =)

This Sunday was the Venice marathon to! We saw them running up one of the 12 (!!) bridges of the course. Props to them!

100_1239

Venice Marathon - hands down to the runners!

Since there were seven of us there that day we decided to be total tourist and take a gondola ride! We paid 10 euros each for what was supposed to be a 30 minute but it was more like 15 minute (scammer!). But it was fun at we got some photo ops.

100_1250

Gondola Ride - Yeah we stole his hat for some photo ops.

We stopped at a Pizzeria and ate some pretty good pizza. Then we stopped from some gelato! YUMM! I tried mint chocolate and was not disapointed in the least. I could’ve eaten the whole bin of gelato (maybe not) it was that good.

100_1243

Mint & Chocolate Gelato - I die!

It was so nice to see someone from back home and get out of the house! I bought a bunch of presents for family at home and I can’t wait to give them to them at christmas!  Plus I bought myself a Universita’ Venezia sweater – tack tourist point! Do you like giving presents?

TEA REVIEW

100_1233

New favourite tea (overseas)

I’m pretty sure this is a italian tea company so I’m not sure if I will be able to find it at but its is ah-mazing! Its my version of Selestial Seasonings. It has a nice cinnamon/fall-ish flavour and its perfect with a splash of soy milk. Here is a view of the ingredients…

100_1235

ingredients for your viewing pleasure...

Another Italian favourite…
I usually don’t like licorice at all but one of the (finnish) au pairs I met introduced me to these in Verona…

100_1232

I need to learn to rotate my pictures - black licorice & straws/raspberry.

Its half black licorice and raspberry or strawberry. Its two calories per treat. They have the gummy-ness of a wine gum candy. I’m going to buy some of these for my dad since he lurvs licorice plus maybe another 5 packages for myself 🙂

My running has gotten better within the past few days. I stick to the same route because I just want to maintain my endurace while abroad but my time is now 31.5 minutes instead of 36 it was when I first started running this route back in September, yay me!

Ugh I got my registration time for my spring semester.. its at 4pm pst which is about 1am here gah it blows. Plus my registration date is WAY late like 21 days after registration starts so I’m guessing my schedule won’ t be so great.

But now I have to go a iron heaps of clothes and go out for my run second run of the day. I’m trying splitting them up so I can more distance in, we’ll see how that goes. Bye girls!

 

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Round three

  1. i used to live an hour away from london 🙂 my dad was in the air force so we lived in england for 4 years. hope you love it there 🙂

  2. Meg

    Ahh such beautiful pictures & a beautiful post, as usual 😉 Oh, and gummy candy – isn’t it one of the best treats ever?! 😛

    Enjoy your day!
    Meg

  3. I think familia #1 is the way to go; hope you love london!!

  4. Sooo jealous of you going to London!! Fam #1 definitely sounds like the better choice (but that’s coming from someone who probably couldn’t care for a “Terrible Two” very well!) haha…

    Good job on the run girly! Theres no better feeling then beating your previous time 🙂

    LOVE giving presents…much more than receiving them. Hence why I can’t wait for Christmas in two months!!!! 🙂 Hope you’re having a good Monday

  5. A gondola ride?! How fun!! 😀

    I love love love gelato! MMM!

  6. o.m.g. mint chocolate gelato! noo, i die.
    seriously, trying gelato in italy is probably on my top ten list of must do before, i die. 🙂

    beautiful pictures my dear! hope you have a great week.

  7. Good luck with the job in England! Even though the job in Venice didn’t work out, you got to see Italy and I’m sure the experience made you a stronger person. I’d say the first family–the job will be easier and there are WAYYYY cheap buses that go into London.

    Frickin loveeeee gelato! Especially pistachio.

  8. Yay! I’m glad your finding a new family – sounded like you weren’t having much fun! I’ve considered au pairing before and that was always my biggest fear! Hope your new fam is much better!

    Jem

  9. How exciting!! I hope your new family works out fabulously…whoever they may be. 🙂

    What do you do when you are an au pair for an 18 year old? Doesn’t sound like a bad gig to me. Yummy gelato…mint cc is my fave.

  10. Good to hear that you will be settling in a new place! Best of luck in London, although it might be a bit hard to say goodbye to that gelato! I’m sure London has awesome foods of its own 😀

    Love that cute hat picture!

  11. shell625

    that gelato looks amaaaazinng!! and london will be so much fun 🙂
    congrats on the improved running time

    xoxox,
    Shelley
    findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  12. Bummer about the fam situation–I’m glad you have a solution though and you can finish on a good note. YOU WILL LOVE LONDON!! Oh my gosh please go to the MASSIVE Whole Foods there–so I can live vicariously through you.

    You look so gorg in that hat 🙂 Hooray for your running speed! I am registering soon too! I get first shot though because I’m a senior…you’ll get that privilege one day too. I definitely understand though because I have had my frustrations with registration throughout the years!

    • yay whole foods! I miss my wholesome/organic foods. Lucky you getting the good registration slot. I think sophomores get last pick so thats probably why my date is so late.

  13. crazylittlethingneela

    hey gorgeous!
    i just came across your blog and i saw that TEA!!! its from germany and its my absolute favorite christmas tea. weihnachten actually means christmas in german. its so so good 🙂
    i cant believe you were in venice. oh i have so much to catch up on your blog 😀
    hope you have a great day love and cant wait to hear from you
    xoxo

  14. so cool you had a chance to see a marathon over there!! it looks like such a beautiful setting!

    that tea look s fab I would surely love that on these chilly winter days!

    love giving presents and even Love more being a complete tourist in another country!! I get all teh cheesy gifts LOL

  15. Peanut Butter Bliss

    i am so jealous that you spent sunday in venice!! my junior year I hope to study abroad in italy 🙂

  16. Hey there! i just found your blog. You are so cute and i love reading this! this post is great and I can’t wait to explore around!! xoxox

  17. I absolutely LOVE giving presents … I look for any excuse to give a gift 🙂 I cannot WAIT to start Christmas shopping!!!!!

  18. lowandbhold

    Yeah England will be so much fun! I love your blog 🙂 You’re so gorg!

  19. You are so adorable!! Sorry about the scammer though, hahha…15 mins is a joke!

    But can you believe that i’ve never tried gelato?? I adoreee mint chocolate flavored fro yo or ice cream so i’m sure i’d love it!
    Always a coffee, peanut butter or mint chocolate kinda gal i guess 😉

  20. 2 runs in one day?! whosh! i can’t even do 10 minutes! that’s awesome! i would definitely go with family #1 as well!

    hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  21. Thanks for stopping by the blog, I am so happy to have found yours! I am in Italy next week, and will be hunting down that tea! Any other recommendations? I’m visiting Rome, Sienna and Venice, and would love any tips.

    I am also a big fan of the fitness cereal in Europe, the one with dried fruits is divine. And I think those little fruits you were eating from the garden are fresh dates!

    Can’t wait to hear your stories from London!

    • I am so visiting all your cool shops when i come to Paris. I am thinking about splurging on those fantastic flats to but 140 euros gah! I wil be snagging some of the macaroons to 🙂 Definitely buy the grapes here they are fantastic. You probably can get them in Paris but I am in LOVE with the grapes here and will have a tough time eating the ones back at home. I tried that cereal! They have tons of different types.. its a bit like special K I guess. I’ve been here for two months and I have managed to go to Venice a few times, Padova many times and I went to Verona for a day. If you have time go to Verona – it’s super gorgeous and they have this amazing arena/coliseum there! When going to eat skip ristorante’s unless you want to pay big bucks! Settle for trattorias or pizzerias. Also the drink to try here is a Spritz made with Aperol – It’s THE drink of the Veneto region. Obvious places to hit up in Venice are San Marco Square and the Rialto bridge… but really just wander around and look at all the cool shops that have funky masks and cool glass figures. If I can think of anything else I will send you another message! Also do you know of any good thrift/vintage shops in paris?

  22. I went to Verona when I was younger with my mom (and yes, we rubbed the boob!)

    There are a ton of great vintage shops in Paris!
    A few to check out:

    Fripestar- 1, Rue de la Verrerie in the Marais
    Kiss Me Olga- 45 rue de Turenne near Bastille
    Mamie-72 Rue de Rochechouart in Montmartre

Leave a Reply

