Icy Dicey

Hey chicas! Hope you all are doing swell! Its almost time for the weekend pour vous but two more days of au pair slavery until I am free to go to VERONA on sunday with my two favey au pairs on this side of the atlantic!

The weather here has done a complete 180 since last week. It is COLD! I’m talking 3 degrees celsius (37 degrees farenheit). Last week it was a warm but muggy 20C/68F, I way prefer that weather. Right now I am wearing two pairs of socks, jeans, a tank top, knit sweater, a knit cardi and scarfΒ  AND I am still cold. My low blood pressure may affect my heating issues but apparently here in italy they don’t turn on the thermostat until november! Which means I will be partially frozen by then and returning home missing a few limbs. Who needs ten fingers anyways?!

I headed out for my run this morning and almost ran all the way back inside my ice castle because it was WAY cold. I need to buy some cheap dollar store gloves because my filangees can’t handle the cold. My runs have been getting a bit better this week but now my body has to adjust to running in the cold again. When I played soccer my knee used to act up when the weather got colder and its starting to do that again here. Hopefully nothing bad comes of it and I can keep going out for my a.m. runs.

Now onto my yogurt creations… these aren’t as good as the ones at home because I have limited resources here in Italia but my tums was quite content with these suckers.

fage 0%, nestle fitness & cinnamon!

fage 0%, nestle fitness & cinnamon!

My first fage creation! I added some of the euro Nestle fitness cereal for some crunchage and some cinnamon. This mix taste like the cinnamon toast crunch cereal. Which is a total success in my book! I’m loving all the protein that is in fage! I’m guilty of not getting enough protein into my diet so fage will defs help resolve this issue.

Next up…grape yogyThis mix had Pineapple Vitasnella (which is Silhouette yog back in North America), Nestle fitness cereal, grapes and cinnamon with some fage hidden underneath. Me loved this flavour of vitasnella minus the aritifical ingredients but it was GOOOOD.

I’ve found a very simple solution to my carb addiction problem here. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner.. Pre cut my veggies, DUH! Totally came in handy the other night when I had a headache and went up to bed. I just brought my little yellow container of veggies along with me and called it a night.

cucs, carrots, yellow bell pepper, broco.

cucs, carrots, yellow bell pepper, broco.

There were more veggie in here, I swear! This picture was taken after I demolished 2/3 of the container. Now I am enjoying an episode of Una mamma per amica (Gilmore Girls) in english of course before I have to go collect some fire wood and start up lunch of the kids and their father. Thanks for all the kinds words on my running issues & my nursing program failure but I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the other schools I have applied to for nursing.

By the way, please check out Homegirl’s bomba$s weekend in NYC – you will die!

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Icy Dicey

  1. Great idea with the veggies! Have a blast in Verona! When I wet to Venice I wanted to see Verona but I didn’t get a chance. Looking forward to your recap!

  2. Yeahhh, speaking of the cold… it’s been SNOWING here since yesterday!!!! In October!? It’s nutsss.. Happy Friday!! πŸ™‚

  3. Booo for the cold! It just started to get wintery here too – and I am hating it. I can’t go out the house wearing less than 3 layers of clothing. Le sigh.

    Stay warm and have fun on Sunday!!

  4. Brooke

    Oh that is AMAZE you found 0% fage! I would be dying of excitement! And thanks for da shoutout mami!! LIVE UP EUROPE! It’s a trip you will remember for the rest of your life, so savor every moment!! πŸ™‚

  5. yayyy looove the Fage love! I’ve been eating it less since being in America bc it’s the most expensive here. Maybe this means I need to move back to Europe!

  6. Ugh man, I understand. My fingers cannot handle cold! I think I lost feeling in a couple toes last night…I want summer!!

  7. Still think it’s awesome that your in Italy! That is certainly a big change in temperature in a week! Thought continents were meant to be somewhat stable (lol – I wouldn’t know, living in NZ, small islands have a large tendency to be completely unpredictable when it comes to weather!)

    Anyway hope you have an awesome time in Verona.

    Jem

  8. julie

    whaaat you found 0% fage! yeaaaah girrrrrl haha

    have TONS of fun this weekend πŸ™‚

  9. holy moly – 37 degrees is quite chilly! it actually snowed here!! weird, i know!
    love me some fage – glad you found some! have a fun weekend!

  10. I’m loving all the different names for products over there. Pretty hilarious!

    The cut veg trick is a good one. I need to start learning to precut my veggies. Maybe that’s why I’m addicted to BABY CARROTS. They are such so darn convenient so they’re always my go to veg snack!

  11. I ate that Fitness cereal in Mexico..did I already tell you that? OH my goodness, I would be whining up a storm if it were that cold here!! It was in the 50s this week and I was crying!! Stay warm chica!

  12. im jealous of your cold weather. today was 100Β° here in arizona!!!

  13. Ali

    thanks girll! i use a nikon d40, i luuuv it : )

  14. Holy cow that’s cold for October! And I was complaining that it’s cold over here (~50-60s*F)

    The cinnamon toast crunch like cereal sounds awesome in Fage!

  15. mmm that fage creation looks delish! I think we are all addicts of greek yogurt, but it is just so good and so protein packed!

    graet Idea with the pre cutting the veggies, it does make them so much more appealing and easy to eat if they are already pre cut! πŸ™‚

    pshhh you go girl, I mean who needs 10 fingers! hahaa πŸ™‚ that made me laugh

    stay warm!

  16. hi! thanks for stopping by and saying hi on my new blog — glad you’re enjoying it and still reading my ramblings πŸ™‚

    the italian in me is SO jealous of the fact that you’re in my motherland πŸ˜‰ can’t wait to read more about your travels!

Leave a Reply

