I miss my turkey…

Hey all! I hope everyone had a good weekend and to all you Canadians, I hope you are enjoying your Thanksgiving weekend! Since I left you last I’ve fallen deeper in love with fage 0% haha and found two other au pairs who live about a 30 minute train ride from me – total success!

Heres a shot of coconut yogurt topped with some fage… my camera was being a b!atch so its not to purdy but it tasted mighty fine!

100_1139
Today, I ate horribly. My bad food devil took over and I ate so much junk food it was ridiculous! I know everyone has those days but today was pretty bad. I’m trying not to be to hard on myself but I know I have to make sure this problem doesn’t keep on reoccurring.

Onto my fun sunday! I met the two au pairs in padova and then we headed of to venice for a few hours. I was an hour late because the family hooked me up with a train that doesn’t run on sundays. So we got to venice and only had two hours before we needed to go back so I could catch my train to nowhere city haha. We were going to try to make it to Piazza San Marco but that was a fail so we had some dins and walked around and snapped some pics.

I am so happy to have found these girls and they know more au pairs so I see my sundays being lots of fun. We have already started to make plans to go to Verona next sunday! Then I’m heading back to Venice the week after to meet up with a friend who is traveling on break from volunteering – fun times! Now I just have to get through the other six days of the week… chin up bri, chin up!

100_1142
100_1144
100_1146

On the edumacation front, I got rejected from the nursing program I applied for that started in January. Majorly bummed about that but I applied to two other schools today then in November I am applying to two more so fingers crossed girls!

My run today was BRUTAL. My feet literally felt like they forgot how to run! I did my run one minute slower today… hopefully things are better tomorrow. I’m looking into getting a gym membership when I get home because morning runs are going to be hard once I get home because the streets are icy dicey and I don’t want to break a leg.

Sorry this blog hasn’t been so much focused on food but my eats have been anything but normal here and its hard to snap pics with the family around. The kids are at school until 5 tomorrow so it should be a nice day pour moi!

Question du jour:
What is your favourite food and when this food is in your home how long does it stay there?
– Since being in Italy… Grapes are my new fave. A big bunch of grapes last about a day an a half haha.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “I miss my turkey…

  1. happy canadian thanksgiving m’dear! when i went to university of victoria my 1st year of college i celebrated it!
    the grape leafs you asked about are stuffed with rice and herbs… supa yummy πŸ™‚
    fav food? as of right now pumpkin pie… it needs to get out of my house fo reals

  2. aww Happy Canadian thanksgiving!

    That’s so awesome that you’re meeting up with the other nannies! It’s a goo chance to blow off some steam.

    Good luck with the other nursing programs, at least you have options. Keep up the optimism!

  3. Bec

    Glad you have some au pair friends over there and are getting to do some traveling πŸ™‚ Sorry about the bad school news but I am sure something will work out!

  4. Bummer no T-day! I missed it last year when I was abroad too. In fact, I had to work from 6am to 9pm at a commercial shoot (sounds way cooler than it was). Glad you go to meet new friends though!! Bummer about the nursing school bit. It’s so hard to get into so don’t feel bad!!! Just keep trying and keep that chin up girly!

  5. Oatmeal has to be my fav meal… Breakfast just isn’t as good if its anything besides oats! So I buy the big containers of Quaker oats and it usually lasts a few weeks which is pretty awesome! πŸ™‚ Glad you had fun with the other au pairs… and HEY don’t you dare beat yourself up over having a couple sweets girly… none of us are perfect, only human… and everybody needs to indulge every once in a while πŸ™‚

  6. hey girl! found your blog and so happy i did!! You are so pretty πŸ™‚

    I would have to say my favorite food is oatmeal and it is ALWAYS in my house, just in case I run out I always keep another tub or 2 in another cabinet! serisouly I can’t remember a day when i haven’t had oats in the house!

  7. I find I have a favourite food and then it changes to something else. I’ve recently discovered oatmeal and am favouring that at the moment.

  8. My entire weekend has been food, eating and junk. It’s all good though, clean healthy eats week starting now?! Haha.

    Oh Venice…. sounds so so lovely. I wish I could be there right now!

    Sorry to hear about the nursing school bummer but I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you for the other schools!

    As for fav food, that’s a toughie but the things that fly right out of my kitchen are roasted squash and cottage cheese! I eat those things like they’re going out of style.

  9. hello beautiful!! im sorry the nursing program didnt work our 😦 but everything happens for a reason! and there could be no better place to find out what that reason is than in a foreign country!!! ahh your weekend adventures sound amazing. im supa jealous. i wish i could just hop around like that! enjoy your little bit of alone time!

  10. Ah! Since coming to Japan grapes have become a favorite for my husband and I. They taste different/better here! πŸ™‚

  11. Happy Thanksgiving to you! I am also glad you found Fage – it’s my favorite – and friends!

    Sorry about your run – I hate it when that happens, and it DOES happen to everyone. Better luck next time. Have a good kid-less day. πŸ™‚

  12. I’m sorry to hear about that nursing school. I’ll be crossing my fingers for the next couple ones!

    Wow, Italy sounds and looks amazing. That is the place I definitely want to travel to soon!

    I can’t choose a favorite food, haha, but I am loving persimmons these days. We buy so much of them, that I don’t think it is possible to run out of them…even for me πŸ˜‰

  13. fingers crossed for your nursing program! we all have bad runs every now and then, it’l be better on your next one! xoxo

  14. Man! Sorry to hear about the nursing program!! Honestly, I believe everything happens for a reason though…….so it probably wasn’t the right fit or match you know?! I’m sure it will work out Brianna!!! Sorry you had a poopy run! Better luck next time! Take care and happy Friday dahhling!

  15. First of all…SOO jealous you live in Italy!! That is a dream of mine.

    Oh man, if you think Fage 0% is good, just wait until you try 2%. It is pure heaven.

    You are gorgeous!! Can’t wait to read more about your adventures πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

