foggy fog

I woke up today to a serious fog situation! I’m kinda scared to go out for my run because 1. european drivers are crazy stupid and 2. you can’t see more than 20 feet ahead of you! I may be road kill before I finish my run – we’ll see! Right now I’m watching some fine NHL hockey (could I be a more typical Canadian?) I have to watch in on ESPN which only shows every other team except MINE! Go Canucks – I woke up this morning to check the score, only to find out they lost. Crappy way to start the day.

Yesterday at lunch I had a pretty serious conversation with the kids (well as serious as it can get when you are talking with a 7 and 10 year olds) . I made a list of what I do for them everyday/week andΒ  then we made a list of the things they can do for me…

100_1099

kids lists


my camera didn’t want to play nice so this list is hard to read!

They seemed to understand but then 10 minutes later Vittoria lied to me… semi-fail on that! But at dinner the parents spoke with the kids about how they need to listen to me more and do what I say without saying “one more minute” or “no”. This morning they woke up pretty well and they didn’t joke around to much while they were getting ready. Usually when they are getting dressed and groomed in the bathroom they act like two monkeys on crack! No joke.

On a light note I found sweet potatoes!!! YAY! Here they are called American potatoes, odd? I plan on picking some of those babies up on my next trp the SuperLoria. The other day I bought myself the Italian Glamour for 2.20euros, pretty sweet price I think because I got tons of free samples and extra mini magazines. Only downside i can’t read any of it haha. Oh well giant picture book then!
italia glammaa

The family I am working for has a this wierd fruit tree in their front yard. The fruits look like this…100_1079

100_1088

I’m not sure what they are called but they taste amaaazing, so sweet & good!

Tip for how to survive kids – stay properly caffeinated
100_1090
I got THE scariest e-mail from my travel agent the other day… My flight home on December 22nd had been canceled and there were no more flights home until christmas, yes instant tears! But then she said there was a flight home on December 21st and all was okay. Seriously though why did she not start with the flight being only one day earlier instead of freaking the sh!zit out of me and making me think I would be stuck on a plane for x-mas.

Now I’m going to for a run in my brightest gear so I don’t get run over & then come back to watch some more hockey (which is making me totally homesick, I wish my dad was sitting beside me right now!) Ciao bellas!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “foggy fog

  1. Good update! Ahhh it’s so hard with kids though, you could tell them until you’re blue in the face to listen to you and respect you, but being crazy monkey-devils is in their nature (at least for the most part for boys, give or take a bit only sometimes with girls) C’est la vie.

  2. hello there!
    as a true european it was a pleasure to read your first few sentences. my grandfather was actually from italy so reading back on your post was really interesting. especially seeing some pictures because have only been to rome, tuscany and milan. hope you enjoy your stay. i will def be following your journey here
    take care

  3. Ah, so one day less in Italy?! πŸ˜€ YAY! That fruit looks like tiny apples- I wonder if they are related! Love the lists you and the kids made…hope it works out. Maybe you could make a star chart or something?

  4. I think your travel agent was probably trying the bad news first then the good. This only works if you’re asked what you want first though good or bad news πŸ™‚ anyway I’m glad you still got your flight home.

  5. Haha hope you’re alive and kicking in italia! int’l flights always get canceled! I don’t understand whyhaha

  6. This is an interesting blog! I’m glad I found it πŸ™‚ I am also canadian!
    I run childrens programs daily…I’v tried to do something similar with the what they can do for me kinda thing (although with 30 kids at a time)…it usually lasts for a few hours and then it all goes down the tubes haha. 😦

    p.s I guess I won’t hold it against you that you are a canucks fan! πŸ˜‰

  7. I love lists! I hope this helps your little monsters…sounds like a step in the right direction to me. It couldn’t hurt…right?

    Those little fruits are so cute! I wonder what they are?!

  8. hah I have only heard that european drivers are crazy – im glad you made it alive; I would have missed you!

    I am a total hockey fan too – go bolts πŸ˜‰

  9. Glad you won’t have to fly on Christmas πŸ™‚

    I love the chart you made with the kiddies! That fruit looks so interesting–I wonder what it is…

  10. Ohhhh giiirl you HAVE to get those SmartDogs!! Phenom to say the least haha.. Glad you’ll be home by Christmas! I’d be having a panic attack if I found out my flight was cancelled and there wasn’t another one going out on time.. holyyy moly.

    What a relief you found sweet potatoes! Cant live without those bebes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

